jump to navigation

Class Divides on Social Networks? Maybe June 25, 2007

Posted by David Card in Media.
trackback

For American youth, MySpace is working class; Facebook is upper class. Or so says this academic. Naturally boingboing believes. But check the methodology first:

    The practice of ‘ethnography’ is hard to describe in a bounded form, but ethnography is basically about living and breathing a particular culture, its practices, and its individuals. There are some countables. For example, I have analyzed over 10,000 MySpace profiles, clocked over 2000 hours surfing and observing what happens on MySpace, and formally interviewed 90 teens in 7 states with a variety of different backgrounds and demographics. But that’s only the tip of the iceberg. I ride buses to observe teens; I hang out at fast food joints and malls. I talk to parents, teachers, marketers, politicians, pastors, and technology creators. I read, I observe, I document.

Wow, 90 whole interviews. And of course, most of MySpace’s audience is over 35 these days. Still, it’s interesting speculation that’s certainly thought-provoking.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

