jump to navigation

Who’s the Real Genius in IT Trade Pubs? April 3, 2007

Posted by David Card in Media.
trackback

I guess Alan Meckler is awe-inspiring.

    And this brings me to the folding of IDG’s INFOWORLD print weekly. As an aside read an interview with IDG founder Pat McGovern pointed out to me by our west coast editor David Needle. I believe I saw the death of tech trade publications before anyone else. In fact in 1996 my old company turned our WEB DEVELOPER (our means Mecklermedia) into a Web site. At that time the “joke” was that we could not make it as a print publisher. I protested. I stated that the future for tech was online and turned the magazine into a Web site. It would not surprise me to see several other IDG titles fold along with the few remaining Ziff Davis print titles as well as some from CMP.

But, you know, Meckler didn’t have anything to lose back in ’96, having no print business. And today the revenues of Meckler’s web media are about, oh, $31M, down from $33M last year. IDG’s private, but it’s a $2.5B business.

I have worked for both Meckler and McGovern. I liked Meckler better. But who’s counting?

