jump to navigation

Oscar, Oscar, Oscar March 8, 2010

Posted by David Card in Media.
Tags:
trackback

I won the Card Family Oscar Pool, but it was close till the end. My sister got cinematography: I thought Avatar was a cartoon – you can win cinematography for a cartoon? But Hurt Locker pulled it out for me, as Betsy was going with Avatar. I guess you can only be King of the World once.

Actually, I think the new voting system helped Hurt Locker, as I’m assuming anybody that picked Up in the Air for best picture was more likely to pick Hurt Locker than Avatar as their second favorite. But we’ll never know.

I ended up 19 for 24, which is my best ever, and I got all the big five. I missed Foreign Language, as an easier, but less critically acclaimed movie won for the second year in a row. (I didn’t see any of them, but I’m up for A Prophet this week.) And Wallace and Gromit lost, for once. I had the sound categories splitting, but Locker took ’em both.

I was quite surprised that Precious stole adapted screenplay from Up in the Air, esp since that meant Air ended up shut out completely. It was probably my favorite movie of the best picture noms.

I was teary-eyed at the John Hughes tribute, no matter how long it was. Hey, I’m high school class of ’79; I’m allowed. And I do miss Billy Crystal. Or Johnny. I liked it better when the stars were hammered. Speaking of which, where was Jack?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

